Apricot Jam

Okay, I know it’s been a shamefully long time since I’ve written a post and I offer huge apologies. I’ve spent the last few months buying a house (!) and then doing lots of unpacking and house type things. Now I’m finally all settled, and I have a gloriously big kitchen to whip up all sorts of tasty food in ❤

I’ve still got a few wee blog posts leftover from the old kitchen though so I’m starting back with one of them – a nice easy apricot jam. This came about because Mr Eats and I saw a massive stack of bright, plump apricots at the supermarket and immediately did an impulse purchase.

IMG_20170604_155252

I hadn’t made jam in ages and the thought of little jars full of gloriously sticky golden nectar was irresistible.

If you like jam and you haven’t made it before – give it a go! It’s ridiculously easy, and homemade jam makes a great little Christmas gift.

IMG_20170604_160337

Ingredients

  • 1kg apricots, cut in half and stoned (this is the most satisfying thing I have ever done – I wished I had 10kg to get through instead of just one)
  • Juice of 1 small lemon
  • 250ml water
  • 1kg caster sugar
  • About 25g butter

Method

Before you start, pop a small plate in the fridge – it’s helpful for checking to see if your jam has set.

Put the apricots, lemon juice and water in a large pan and slowly bring to a boil, stirring every now and then. Once up at a boil, reduce heat and simmer until the fruit is soft – about 20-30 mins to break down the fruit.

Remove from the heat, then add the sugar and stir until completely dissolved. Return to the heat, add the butter and mix in. Bring to the boil and boil rapidly for 15 mins. Test it at that point for setting – if it’s not ready boil again for 5 mins, test and so on.

To test it, take your plate out the fridge and drop a little bit of jam. Wait 2 minutes then push the jam with your finger – if it wrinkles then it’s ready. Just pour into sterilised jars and that’s you.

IMG_20170604_163050

IMG_20170604_170703IMG_20170604_173226_484

It starts out quite dark but as it cools and sets in the jars it brightens up to a lovely rich gold colour. It’s brilliant just on toast, but my mum also used some of the jar I gave her to fill chocolate cupcakes with, which sounds delicious!

Leave a comment