Opium, Glasgow

Mr Eats and I celebrated our first anniversary in April, and wanted to celebrate with food (what else?). I was still in my post-Korea dumpling addiction, so when Mr Eats suggested Opium it was an instant winner. Neither of us had been before but I was drooling over the menu from my first glance at it.

They have a mix of dim sum and larger dishes on the menu, so we ordered a whole bunch of dim sum to start then shared a main.

IMG_20170422_205638

These were crispy chicken and lemongrass dumplings – they were so gloriously crunchy and tasty. The dip was red curry-ish, and paired so nicely with the dumplings.

IMG_20170422_205643.jpg

This squid was amazing! So crispy and delicious without a hint of chewiness – just perfection.

On the left we had Tom Yam soup dumplings – these were so tasty bust unfortunately a couple of them had leaked their soup out.

Next to that are chicken and prawn dumplings in a satay sauce – I love satay sauce and these dumplings were such tasty little morsels.

That was it for our dim sum – then we moved on to Korean BBQ chicken with garlicky greens and sticky rice.

IMG_20170422_212406IMG_20170422_212412

I loved this – the sauce on the chicken was sticky-sweet and full of flavour, and the rice flavoursome and sticky. I was glad we shared this, because otherwise I’d have been really full with the dim sum. As it was we both had room for dessert afterwards.

IMG_20170422_221046IMG_20170422_221157

Mr Eats had deep fried ice cream. This is the first time I’ve ever tried deep fried ice cream – it was much, much nicer than I thought it would be.

IMG_20170422_221059.jpg

This was really nice chocolate mousse – I’m not a fan of overly dark rich mousse, and this struck a perfect balance. I also enjoyed the tiny cute rice cake that came with it, and the overall gorgeous presentation!

I really enjoyed this meal, and the service throughout was friendly and attentive, despite the fact the place was packed. There were so many things I wanted to try on the menu as well so I’ll definitely head back at some point!

Leave a Reply

