Yorkshire Puddings

I love, love, love Yorkshire Puddings. I’d always been too nervous to make my own until recently – and now I can’t believe I haven’t been doing it all this time!

These ones pictured are not my best – I’d mucked up the timings of the roast I was doing so in the ensuing flap forgot to turn the heat up at the required time. Normally they’re much more magnificently puffy!

Ingredients (for 4 large Yorkies)

  • 70g plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 100 ml milk
  • Fat for cooking – I prefer duck or goose fat but veg oil works just as well.
  • Seasoning to taste (my mum also recommends putting some sage in the batter which sounds lovely, but I haven’t tried it yet)

Method

Heat the oven to 220C. Add a spoonful of fat to each hole in the tray – you can pop it in the oven at this point to heat through, but I normally heat it on the hob to cut down on taking the tray in and out the oven too often. However you do it, the fat should be sizzling hot by the time you add the batter.

In a bowl, whisk the eggs and flour together, then gradually add the milk and whisk in until smooth. Season to taste then carefully pour into the tray. I normally transfer the mix to a measuring jug and pour from that, so I can try and get equal amounts in from the start and cut down on pouring time.

Pop the tray in the oven and leave for 20-25 minutes. Don’t open the oven door until they’re done – puffed up and golden brown.

received_1313786315319086

Sorry for the terrible photo – these ones were my first attempt – the difference is really visible to the ones above! They’ll taste good anyway but make sure you get the oven hot enough before popping them in as it makes such a difference to the rise!

So, top tips to keep in mind: make sure your oven is hot enough, make sure your fat is hot enough, and keep the oven closed until they’re done!

Leave a Reply

