Mini apple pastries

These were little spur of the moment pastries I whipped up, as I had some leftover pastry and I fancied something sweet. They were so tasty and quick, and just used ingredients I had in the house. My pastry was shop bought (I know, boo) but it’s even more of a good store cupboard dessert if you make your own.

Ingredients

  • About 50-100g shortcrust pastry (I’m sorry – I have no idea how much I had and I wasn’t sensible enough to weigh it)
  • 1 eating apple, peeled, cored, and finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons sugar, plus extra for decoration
  • Just under a tsp cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon Butter
  • 1 egg, beaten

IMG_20170504_001957.jpg

Method

Heat oven to 180C.

Gently cook your apple in the butter, in a small pan. Mix in the sugar, nutmeg and seasoning and cook over a low heat for around 10-15 minutes, or until soft.

Roll out your pastry nice and thin and cut out circles with a biscuit cutter (I managed 12 rounds with a 2-inch cutter)

Place a teaspoon of your apple mix in the center of 6 of the rounds and brush egg around the outside. Top each one with another circle of pastry and press down the edges with a fork. I stabbed each one with a fork on top, brush over with egg and sprinkle with sugar. Pop in the oven for about 20 mins until the pastry is crisp and browned. Serve with ice cream and any remaining apple mixture.

IMG_20170324_230228_586

They were so moreish! And so tiny they’re pretty much healthy, yeah?

Leave a Reply

