Apple Sauce

I could just eat apple sauce forever. I rank roast pork as my 2nd favourite Sunday roast pretty much purely because of the apple sauce (behind chicken on the top spot, obviously because of the combined heaven of sage & onion stuffing and bread sauce).

That said, this weekend was the first time I’d actually made my own!

Ingredients

  • 2 Bramley apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 50g butter
  • 50ml water
  • Sugar to taste – I didn’t measure but probably used around 4 tablespoons as I like it sweet
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

 

Method

Add the apples, butter and water to a saucepan, pop on the lid and cook over a medium heat for around 5 mins, or until the apple starts to break down.

Give everything a good beating with a spoon to form a rough purée, and season to taste. You can make in advance and reheat before serving, or have cold from the fridge which is also pretty good.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

