Lamb Soup

I mentioned Icelandic lamb soup in my food tour post – it’s such a tasty, comforting hug in a bowl. I was determined to make my own, so having leftovers from my leg of lamb seemed like a perfect opportunity.

I unfortunately didn’t take notes as I made this because it’s soup and I assumed I’d remember. Sadly I overestimated my abilities so this will be a bit vague.

Method

I cut the remains of the lamb leg in half so it would fit in my big soup pot, added lots of ground black pepper, a handful fresh thyme and about a tsp of salt I brought back that was mixed with various arctic herbs and berries – add any mix of seasonings you like! I added enough hot water to cover about 2/3 of the lamb and popped it on to simmer for about 40 mins.

Scoop out the lamb and turn the heat up to reduce down a bit while you remove any remaining meat from the bone. Strain the cooking water through a sieve and return to the pot.

For the veg, I used:

  • 1 swede, chopped into large cubes
  • 5 carrots, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 2 leeks, halved lengthways and cut into chunks
  • A savoy cabbage, tough bits removed and the leaves cut into strips

You can really use anything you want in terms of veg – whatever you like or have left in the fridge.

IMG_20170205_003341.jpg

I chucked all the meat and veg, apart from the cabbage, into the pot, and added a Knorr lamb stock pot for a bit of additional flavour as I hadn’t had time to do a proper stock, then topped up the water to make sure everything was covered. I cooked it all until the veg was tender, then added the cabbage for another 10 mins to finish it off. It made about 10 portions so my freezer is now gloriously full of lamb soup.

IMG_20170206_143014.jpg

A great wee work lunch!

Leave a Reply

