Red wine & rhubarb syrup reduction

This is a super simple sauce that can be varied in loads of different ways to suit the dish you’re serving it with. I had this rhubarb-syrup version with lamb and it was great.

Ingredients

  • One of those little mini bottles of red wine. Some quick googling will normally tell you which variety of wine goes best with your meal, but I can’t say I normally bother.
  • About a tablespoon butter
  • Chopped leaves from 2-3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • A tablespoon of caramelised rhubarb syrup. I brought this back from Iceland and I’ve not been able to find a substitute here, but I might try making my own at some point and add the recipe if I’m successful
  • Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

IMG_20170204_174524.jpg

Method

Melt the butter in a saucepan over a medium heat, adding the thyme as it melts.

Pour in the wine then turn up the heat and cook until reduced by about half, add the syrup and season to taste. That’s you ready to go!

 

I do a few variations of this – adding things like 1-2 tablespoons redcurrant jelly instead of the syrup gives a sweeter finish which is great with venison. You can mix up your herbs, add finely chopped shallots or garlic etc.

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

