Fondant Potatoes

I’ve only eaten fondant potatoes a couple of times in my life and I’m really not sure if these turned out the way they’re meant to. They were nice though, so I’m including them anyway.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 mid sized potatoes (I used King Edwards, advice online varies), peeled and with the ends sliced flat
  • 150g butter
  • 100ml stock (I used veg stock but chicken would be good)
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and bashed with the flat of a knife.
  • A couple of sprigs of thyme

Method

Heat the butter in a heavy based pan until it’s foaming. Place the potatoes in the butter and leave to cook for 5-6 minutes until brown, then flip over and cook for another 5-6 minutes on the other side.

Add the stock, garlic and thyme, turn the heat down and cook gently until cooked through. I cooked mine a bit too vigorously and they took about 20 mins – if you cook them over a gentler heat they may take a bit longer.

IMG_20170204_175820.jpg

As I said, I’m really not sure if they were how they should be, but they were soft and buttery and tasty, so I really enjoyed them anyway!

Leave a Reply

