Quick Refried Beans

One of my guilty pleasures is refried beans from a tin – despite the somewhat disturbing similarity to cat food in both look and smell, I do rather enjoy them.

Although I do enjoy the tinned version, I thought it was about time I tried my hand at my own.

IMG_20170201_211719.jpg

Ingredients

  • 2 tins of pinto beans
  • Around 2 Tblspoons veg oil
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 Tblspoon tomato puree
  • 1 tsp garlic granules
  • 1 tsp dried chilli
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp chipotle and smoked paprika paste
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method

Heat the oil in a wide shallow pan and tip in the beans. Cook over a medium heat for around 5 minutes, mashing them up as you go. You could add a little water as you go if you want a smoother, wetter texture.

Once heated through and coarsely mashed, take off the heat and stir in all of the other ingredients.

I had this with fajitas and it was fab – nice texture and packed with flavours. Pretty pleased with the results!

Leave a Reply

