Haust, Reykjavik

On our last night in Reykjavik, we were tired from being on the Golden Circle tour all day, and needed to be ready by 4am for our airport pickup (ick), so we went for the more easy and relaxing option of eating at the hotel restaurant. I’m so glad we did as it was amazing!

We stayed at Fosshotel Reykjavik, and the restaurant is Haust. There were a couple of changes to the menu which were explained as we were given it, so we had plenty of time to contemplate options.

IMG_20170125_202600.jpg

This was my starter of reindeer tartare, with apple, cheese and walnuts. It was a beautiful blend of flavours and textures – I particularly liked how the walnuts and apple added a little crunch to the cheese and meat.

IMG_20170125_202546.jpg

This was Mr Eats’ langoustine soup – I wish I’d taken before and after shots, as it arrived with the grilled langoustine tail and greens with a little sauce, with the broth then poured over it at the table. I wanted to order this but didn’t as it had fennel in it (not a fennel fan), but I gave it a try and it was actually delicious.

IMG_20170125_205131.jpg

We both went with the lamb for our main, which was really a work of art! The lamb was beautifully cooked, tender and delicious. It came with beetroot, artichoke, apple, fondant potatoes, and a couple of purees which tasted lovely but I’m not sure what they were. It was as tasty as it was pretty, with the earthy artichokes and beetroots and the sharp apple combining really nicely together.

IMG_20170125_212234.jpg

For dessert we ordered a chocolate dome, which turned out to be unavailable. They substituted in a chocolate and peach cake and some free dessert wine for the mix up, which was a nice touch. I love chocolate and peaches together so it was a winning substitute for me – as with every other course, the food was both beautifully presented and delicious.

IMG_20170125_201704.jpg

I just wanted to give the bread a quick mention. I couldn’t for the life of me get a decent photo, but it definitely needs to be included. It was a rye sourdough – so soft and dense and cakey, with that gorgeous rye flavour – with smoked butter. They were a gorgeous combination, and I liked that it was a little bit unusual!

I’m really pleased that we ate here during our stay – it was much fancier than expected and gave it the element of a really nice last-night treat.

 

Leave a Reply

