Grand Food Tour – part 1

On my second visit to Iceland, I went on a food tour on my first day there, to reacquaint myself with Reykjavik and to partake in foods I’d missed trying on my first trip. I don’t know if more than one company runs a food tour, but I did mine through Wake Up Reykjavik and it was fantastic. I absolutely recommend it, particularly if you’re new to the city as it’s a great way to get to know your way around, eating amazing food while you do it.

Now, on this occasion we opted not to go for a tour – there were various other foods I wanted to show Mr Eats, and due to time restrictions they needed to be combined as best as possible with any sightseeing we planned to do. So the food on this post and part 2 (for there shall be a part 2) were eaten over the course of our trip and not in a tour as such, but I’m going to call it a tour anyway.

Hot Dogs

Now, if you visit Iceland, you have to have a hot dog, and you have to have it ‘with everything’ – everything being a delicious combination of raw onions, crispy onions, ketchup, remoulade and mustard.

IMG_20170124_141152.jpg

It is widely said that the best hot dog in Reykjavik (or Iceland, or possibly the world) is to be had from Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur. I’d prefer not to admit just how many I’ve consumed – they really are that good. As well as being delicious, they are possibly the most affordable food in Iceland, at only 420 ISK (currently just under £3) a pop.

Pastries/Cakes

Now, it never would have occurred to me that this would be the case, but Reykjavik seems to be a haven of places selling amazing pastries and cakes, as can be seen from the main picture above.

IMG_20170124_104448.jpg

IMG_20170124_104437.jpg

We had a morning coffee stop on our way down Laugavegur, at Sandholt bakery. Here you can buy bread, cakes and pastries to take away, or you can sit in, where they serve other meals alongside the cakes and pastries. Mr Eats went for an apple cake with his coffee – it was nice, with a good texture, not too sweet.

I opted for a hot chocolate and a cinnamon roll. The hot chocolate was gorgeous and the little chocolate chip biscuit was a nice touch. I love a cinnamon roll anyway, and this was no exception. Lovely soft pastry and good cinammon flavour!

IMG_20170125_115132.jpg

This creation is definitely worth a mention – I got it in Almar Bakari in Hveragerði, which we stopped on during the Golden Circle tour. Hveragerði was mostly a coffee stop on the tour, but they have an interesting little exhibition about a bad earthquake that hit the town in 2008, which is worth a look. In the same building is the bakery, which serves a great range of pastries and sandwiches. They also do great hot chocolate. I visited during my first Iceland trip and had the same pastry, and had such fond memories of it I was determined to get it again. I don’t even know what’s in it, only that it was delicious.

Reykjavik Chips

I love Reykjavik chips and have been there on every Iceland visit so far. They do cones of really good chips and have a range of sauces to top them with. I’ve tried a few sauces but by far my favourite is their Béarnaise, because it’s amazing.

IMG_20170122_215544.jpg

The lighting wasn’t the best for pictures but you get the idea. They’re fairly reasonably priced, for Iceland – 750 ISK (about a fiver) will get you a small cone, which is actually pretty filling. As with many eateries in Iceland, they also have empty cups and jugs of water sitting out for you to help yourself which is both a cheap and tasty option (seriously, the water in Iceland is so good). If you fancy something different though, you can get a can with your cone for about £1.50 extra, or a beer for around a fiver, which is actually exceptionally reasonable for Reykjavik.

Cafe Loki

Cafe Loki should probably merit a post of its own, as I’ve heard great things about it and it’s been recommended to me by a few people. However, while they have a great menu of traditional Icelandic foods, all I’ve actually eaten there is ice cream. I will return for something more at one point, I just haven’t managed it yet.

IMG_20170124_131241.jpg

This is rye bread ice cream – I know that may sound a bit weird, but it’s honestly amazing. I might never have tried this if it wasn’t for the Wake Up Reykjavik food tour, so I’m extremely grateful I did it for that. It has a lovely almost crunchy texture due to the dried rye bread through it, and the flavor is a more subtle version of the distinctive bread taste. They top it with whipped cream and a caramelised rhubarb syrup which you can buy bottles of in the cafe itself, along with many of the tourist shops in Reykjavik. It’s an absolute must try!

 

Well, I’ve definitely rambled enough for one post! Part 2 of the food tour will mostly cover soup, as there are several great soups you should try in Iceland. Stay tuned for more information!

Leave a Reply

