Ostabúðin, Reykjavik

Hello! I’m back after a fab few days in Iceland, so I’ve got plenty tasty things to blog about over the next few days.

I’ll start with Monday night’s dinner – it was Mr Eats’ birthday so I took him out to a cute wee place just off the main tourist/shopping street Laugavegur. Ostabúðin is an adorably tiny restaurant, with a nice range of Icelandic flavours on the menu. They also have a deli next door where you can pick up meats and cheeses along with various condiments, jams, crackers etc. It’s definitely worth a visit and I highly recommend their smoked goose!

img_20170123_175003

This was Mr Eats’ starter – seafood soup with a tomato curry base, with coconut milk, scallops and shrimp. He said it was delicious and moreish – I’m not normally a fan of curry, soup and fish all together but this had a lovely flavor.

IMG_20170123_175012.jpg

This was absolutely beautiful – smoked & cured salmon with cucumber, horseradish and buttermilk sauce. The salmon had a beautiful texture and a lovely subtle flavor. I think the cucumber was marinaded or dressed in some way – I’m not sure exactly what it was, but it had this lovely tang that went so well with the salmon.

img_20170123_200730_283

This was my main of Icelandic lamb, with beetroot, artichokes, hazelnuts and potato puree. I really enjoy Icelandic lamb – it is so tender and has this beautiful flavour that’s unlike any other lamb I’ve tried. I can never resist ordering it at least once while in Iceland, and this trip I’ve even brought a leg back with me!

This dish in particular was lovely – all the components went well together and they complemented the lamb without overpowering the flavour. Delicious!

IMG_20170123_181740.jpg

Mr Eats went for Arctic Char, with celery root and potato puree. If you haven’t had arctic char before, it’s a bit like a mix of salmon and trout. I’ve never been able to find it in the UK as it’s normally found in cold waters, so it’s another thing I like to get while in Iceland – so naturally I had a wee bit off Mr Eats’ plate. The fish was cooked perfectly and it tasted great, but I was glad I went for the lamb as it had that extra something.

For dessert, our waiter had clocked the massive birthday badge pinned to Mr Eats, and brought over cheesecake with a little candle.

IMG_20170123_190015.jpg

It was a lovely little touch and the cheesecake was gorgeous, with a delicate hint of caramel through the mousse. It was a lovely end to a gorgeous meal – and we were both thankful to have a dessert to share as we were stuffed by the end!

I’d only ever had lunch here before so it was really nice to go for a full dinner – kid it’s a really great little place with some amazing food.

Leave a Reply

