Swedish Meatballs

Okay, this is a bit of a cop out as I used IKEA meatballs. However, the sauce is amazing and can be used with both homemade and IKEA meatballs (or any shop bought meatballs I guess!)

 

Ingredients

  • 1 Tblspoon olive oil
  • 1 Tblspoon butter
  • 2 Tblspoons flour
  • 400 ml beef stock (I used most of a knorr stock pot stirred into 400ml boiling water, but any would do)
  • About 2 Tblspoons fresh parsley and dill, finely chopped
  • Meatballs of your choice

img_20170115_200142

 

Method

Heat the oil in a large saute pan. Depending on the meatballs you use, your method here may vary. As IKEA ones are frozen, I tipped them into the pan (16 between two people.. Vary this depending on the size and your appetite), browning them off and cooking for a couple more minutes until they started to soften, then set aside.

Turn the heat to low and melt the butter, then add the flour, whisking it in together to form a paste. Cook for 2 mins, then gradually whisk in the stock. Turn the heat to medium and cook, stirring, until starting to thicken.

I added the meatballs back in at this point and kept them cooking gently for around 10 mins, then served them up, turning the heat right up to thicken the gravy. I added the herbs and served up.

You can have whatever sides you fancy – I opted for peas, mustard mash, pickled cucumber (I had meatballs while in Sweden and they were served with pickled cucumber and it was a great combo, so I whipped up my own for this) and redcurrant jelly.  The redcurrant worked well with it, but if you can get it nothing can beat lingonberry jam, so I’d definitely recommend picking some up!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. zozieposie says:

    I hear about those meatballs

    Like

Leave a Reply

